image4

Town Government

The Charter

The Town of Glasgow was established by a Charter granted by the General Assembly on February 29, 1892. The Town is operated under the Council-Manager form of government. Legislative power is vested in the Town Council and the responsibility for the administrative and executive functions are delegated to the Town Manager, who is appointed by the Council. 



Under direction from the Council, the Town Manager’s duties include responsibilities which, in a larger locality, would be assigned to specific personnel. These duties include administration, budgeting, planning, zoning, public works, and community development. 


The Town provides services such as water treatment and distribution, wastewater collection and treatment, trash collection, maintenance of certain streets, police protection, and park & recreation facilities. 

Regular Meetings

Council meets the second Tuesday of every month at the Glasgow Library at 7pm 

Mayor & Town Council

The Town Council consists of six members elected by written ballot. A Mayor is also elected, at-large, by written ballot. In 2004 the General Assembly granted a change in the Town’s charter to allow election schedules to be set by ordinance. In that year the Council adopted an ordinance which staggers the terms of the Council members, while leaving the term of office at two years. 

Council Minutes, Agendas, and Packages

Glasgow Mayor

image5

Mayor Ruby Clark (2014 - present)

Member of Town Council
2000 - 2013

Past Committee/Commission Assignments
Finance Committee
Parks & Recreation Committee 

Education
Bachelor Degree - Mary Baldwin College

Civic Activities
Glasgow Baptist Church - Member


Contact Information:
Phone: 540-460-3212
Email: rclark@glasgowvirginia.org 

Town Council

Andrea Bradley

image6

Serving Since 2014

 Abradley@glasgowvirginia.org 

Sonny Williams

image7

Serving Since 2014

 Swilliams@glasgowvirginia.org 

Greg Hartbarger

image8

Serving Since 2018

 Ghartbarger@glasgowvirginia.org 

Andy Ryan

image9

Serving Since 2018

 Aryan@glasgowvirginia.org

Aaron Britton

image10

Serving Since 2019

 abritton@glasgowvirginia.org

Barrett McFaddin

image11

Serving Since 2019

 bmcfaddin@glasgowvirginia.org